So it begins…

Our first day we spent in Ulaanbator seeing the capital city. Half of the population of Mongolia lives in this city which while very interesting is certainly far from what one would call cosmopolitan. We toured about the city a bit and saw some very interesting buildings. I guess I should have known this would be the case but I didn’t realize how Russian everything would be. We also went to a Mongolian History museum and to a cultural event where they had a show of Mongolian singers and dancers which was really cool. They do this incredible throat singing thing that I have no idea how they do it!!

It was a great first day to break us into being halfway around the world!!

Next… To the desert!

2 thoughts on “So it begins…

  1. Tilly says:

    Hello there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I truly enjoy reading through your blog
    posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the
    same subjects? Thanks!

    • michelleham says:

      Hello!

      Well I will be honest it kind of depends on what exactly you are looking for information-wise. Obviously there is http://www.nasa.gov but another good general website is http://www.space.com I also highly recommend a Twitter account to follow all of the astronauts who are tweeting. From there you can find even more articles and blogs as they post their own personal or Retweet other good ones. I also am on Twitter and Retweet good articles I find from others. (Social Media makes it so much easier to find great stories out there that you might not have found otherwise.)

      And of course there’s http://www.isset.org 🙂

      I hope this helps! And you’ve inspired me to start keeping track of the good places I find info and write a synopsis of those sites in the future!!

      chelle

Leave a Reply

